Crossed Arrows District Committee

Gaylon Whitmer

Relationships Committee Chairman
Contact Information

Gaylon Whitmer began his scouting career soon after graduating from college in the early 1960’s.  He served first as Committeeman and Assistant Scoutmaster before serving as Scoutmaster of Troop 222 for 30 years in Stewartsville. He became Honorary Warrior “Friendly Shining Light” in 1976, Sachem in 1991, Medicine Man in 1999, and Chieftain in 2006. Gaylon was named the Pony Express Council  Eagle Class Honoree for 2009.


Gaylon has attended the National Jamboree on two occasions serving as Chaplain and Assistant Scoutmaster of the Pony Express Contingent; lead several high Adventure Treks to Philmont and annual canoe trips to the Ozarks.  Besides serving many years at the local level, Gaylon has also served as Crossed Arrows District Chairman, served on the Membership and FOS Committee and chaired several Camporee and Klondike Derbies.  Currently Gaylon serves as Relationships Vice-President on the Council Executive Board. He received the Silver Beaver in 1986 and completed Wood Badge in 1994.


Gaylon retired from teaching and school administration after 45 years in just two School Districts:  Osborn R-0 and Stewartsville C-II. He received the Pierce Award in 2001 from the Northwest School Administrators Association, and later received the MASA Outstanding Emeritus Educator Award. He has served the last several years as Board President of  “Peace Unlimited”, a non-profit Youth Development and Team Building Program that has served over 10,000 Junior High and High School youth in Eastern Kansas and Northwest Missouri over the last decade.


Gaylon is an active member and minister in the Community of Christ Church where he received the “World Community International Youth Award in 1991.  He received the Lion’s Club District Award for Service to Youth in 2001.  He is currently President of the Dekalb County Ministerial Alliance. Gaylon and Frances have three children and five grandchildren and live in Stewartville, Missouri, where he serves as Mayor.